The Muse: A Journal of Creative and Critical Writing of the Department of English and Literary Studies, University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

The Board calls for submission for its forthcoming publication of The Muse Journal No. 49. The Journal publishes works from anywhere in the world.


1. Entries MUST be sent in as Microsoft Word attachments in 12 font size, Times New Roman font. Do not include your name in the attachment.
2. Entries MUST be the original work of the author and must not have been published elsewhere.
3. Entries are to be restricted to the following genres and specifications:

– Critical Essays/Research Papers on Language or Literature MUST not exceed 3500 words. Submit a single entry.
– Literary Review Papers MUST be of a book not published earlier than 2019 and MUST not exceed 2000 words. Submit a single entry.
– Plays MUST not exceed 2500 words. Submit a single entry.
– Short stories should be between 1500-3500 words. Submit a single entry.
– Flash Fiction must not exceed 500 words.
– Poetry: Submit a maximum of 3 poems of not more than 30 lines each.
– Pidgin Poetry: Submit a maximum of 3 poems of not more than 30 lines each.
– Artworks should be scanned and sent as a Microsoft Word doc.
– Hybrids are accepted too. Should not exceed 2000 words. Submit a single entry.

4. Subject of the email should be in this format: Submission for The Muse 49: Genre: Title of the work.
5. Include a bio of not more than 100 words in a different attachment.
6. Send your entries to the email:

Originality is of the essence. We also encourage reviews and criticisms on works of writers who are graduates of the department for this edition.

SUBMISSION starts 12:00 am, 01 January 2022
DEADLINE is 11:59 pm, 28th February 2022

Only STUDENT contributors are eligible to enter for and win prizes in the genres. Writers are encouraged to write works based on contemporary issues and be experimental or creative with style in the various genres. Student contributors are eligible to win prizes available in the genres such as:

Emeka Anuforo Prize for Overall Literary Artist
Eriata Oribhabor Prize for Pidgin Poetry
Leo Ejesu Prize for Drama
Okereke Wilson Prize for Prose
Ugwuanyi Leonard Prize for Flash Fiction
Ewuluonu Nathaniel Prize for Critical Writing

For more inquiries, contact:
The Editor: Ifesie, Ozichukwu C. – +2347032235588
Assistant Editor: Okey-Onyema, Sharon – +2348179061884